Back to 180Gram

Yes – Drama

$47.50 $32.00

Drama is the tenth studio album by the English rock band Yes, released on 18 August 1980 by Atlantic Records. It is their only album to feature Trevor Horn as lead vocalist, following the departure of Jon Anderson and Rick Wakeman in March 1980 after unsuccessful recording sessions for a new album in Paris and London. Horn was joined by keyboardist Geoff Downes, his partner in the new wave band The Buggles. Drama was recorded in a short amount of time as a tour was already booked prior to the change in personnel. It marked a departure in the band’s musical direction with songs more accessible and aggressive, and featuring the use of modern keyboards and a vocoder.


In stock

SKU: Friday Music FRM16019 [16] Categories: , , , Tags: , , ,


Fans have been requesting this title for the audiophile format for years…and Friday Music is much honored to oblige.
Jon Anderson, Chris Squire, Peter Banks, Bill Bruford and Tony Kaye created this masterpiece in 1970. The stunning musicianship partnering with the voice of Jon Anderson truly made this one of the more memorable albums from that decade.
With such concert and fan favorites like the smashes Sweet Dreams, Then, and the pivotal ballad Time And A Word, this album was not only a prog-rock pleaser, but an all around classic rock event, which has stood the test of time to this day.
Stephen Stills’ classic Everydays gets the five star treatment from this English quintet, plus the all time Yes track Astral Traveller is also featured on this stunning release.
Mastered from the original Atlantic Records tapes by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios and at Capitol Records with Ron McMaster, Time And A Word also includes for the first time in North American gatefold the original rare U.K. album artwork, as well as a poly sleeve for the LP and a poly sleeve for the album jacket to protect your recording for years to come.

• 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl
• Mastered at Friday Music Studios
• Mastered from the original Atlantic Records tapes

Drama was released to a mostly positive critical reception, with most welcoming the band’s new sound. The album peaked at No. 2 in the UK and No. 18 in the US, though it became their first album since 1971 not to reach Gold certification by the RIAA. “Into the Lens” was released as the album’s sole single. Yes toured the album with a 1980 tour of North America and the UK, and were met with some negative reactions during the UK leg over the new line-up change. Yes disbanded at its conclusion; Horn ventured into producing, Howe and Downes co-formed Asia, and Squire and White formed Cinema with Trevor Rabin which led to a reformed Yes in 1982. The album was remastered in 2004 with previously unreleased bonus tracks. Yes performed Drama in its entirety for the first time on their 2016 European tour.


1. Machine Messiah
2. White Car
3 Does It Really Happen?
1. Into the Lens
2. Run Through the Light
3. Tempus Fugit


Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm