Back to 180Gram

Woody Guthrie – Woody’s Roots

$47.50 $30.00

Many of Guthrie’s songs were a result of his living through the era of the Dust Bowl when he left his wife and children behind in Texas to find work in California. It was in Los Angeles, California in the late ’30s when he achieved fame with radio partner Maxine “Lefty Lou” Crissman as a broadcast performer of traditional folk music. This earned him enough money to send for his family to join him.


In stock

SKU: Rounder Records 11661-1164-1 [14] Categories: , , Tags: ,


Limited Edition vinyl from the “My Dusty Road” box set. The definitive collection of Woody Guthrie’s mid-1940s recordings feature the clearest sounding recordings of his music ever released, taken from newly discovered original metal masters.
54 tracks on 4 separate LPs, including 6 songs previously unreleased on any format! The four separately issued LPs include “This Land Is Your Land”, “Pretty Boy Floyd”, “Jesus Christ”, “Hard Travelin'”, “Going Down the Road (I Ain’t Gonna Be Treated This Way)”, and many more favorites.
The Oklahoma born singer/songwriter/folk musician Woody Guthrie is best-known for the self-penned “This Land Is Your Land”, one of the most famous folk songs in U.S. history.
“Woody’s Roots” features the song “John Henry”, one of many of Guthrie’s songs about the struggles of the working class.

• Limited Edition – 500 copies
• Vinyl LP
• Taken from newly discovered Original Metal Masters


1. Poor Boy
2. Worried Man Blues
3. A Picture From Life’s Other Side
4. Buffalo Skinners
5. Hard Ain’t It Hard
6. Stewball
7. Stackolee
1. Gypsy Davy
2. Little Darling Pal of Mine
3. What Did the Deep Sea Say?
4. Chisholm Trail
5. Put My Little Shoes Away
6. Will You Miss Me When I’m Gone?
7. John Henry


Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm