Back to Columbia

Willie Nelson – Red Headed Stranger


Willie’s 1978 concept album, with its mystic and religious overtones, broke all of the traditional rules of country music and helped establish Austin, Texas as ground zero of the “Outlaw” movement. Nelson’s self-financed, surprise double-platinum smash helped him reach by far his largest audience and yielded the No. 1 country single “Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain.”

In stock

SKU: Columbia/Legacy 88697335731 [3] Categories: , , Tags: ,


Rolling Stone writer Paul Nelson wrote: “Red Headed Stranger is extraordinarily ambitious, cool, tightly controlled…. Hemingway, who perfected an art of sharp outlines and clipped phrases, used to say that the full power of his composition was accessible only between the lines; and Nelson, on this LP, ties precise, evocative lyrics to not quite remembered, never really forgotten folk melodies to create a similar effect, haunting yet utterly unsentimental. That he did not write much of the material makes his accomplishment no less singular.”[22] Meanwhile, critic Robert Christgau wrote, “Some of the individual pieces are quite nice, but the gestalt is the concept album at its most counterproductive—the lyrics render the nostalgic instrumental parts unnecessarily ironic and lose additional charm in narrative context.”


1. Time Of The Preacher
2. I Couldn’t Believe It Was True
3. Time Of The Preacher Theme
4. Medley: Blue Rock Montana/Red Headed Stranger
5. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain
6. Red Headed Stranger
7. Time Of The Preacher Theme
8. Just As I Am
1. Denver
2. O’er The Waves
3. Down Yonder
4. Can I Sleep In Your Arms
5. Remember Me (When The Candle Lights Are Gleaming)
6. Hands On The Wheel
7. Bandera
8. Bach Minuet In G 17. I Can’t Help It (If I’m Still In Love With You)
9. A Maiden’s Prayer
10. Bonaparte’s Retreat


Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm