Back to 45 RPM

The Montgomery Brothers – Groove Yard


As youngsters back in Indianapolis, the three Montgomerys learned to play together. Monk and Buddy, the oldest and youngest, left home first to gain 1950s fame as the core of “The Mastersounds”; a few years later, when Wes was beginning to set the jazz world on its ear, they were again able to work as a unit.

It was not a very successful venture, commercially speaking, but their few recordings give off a most noticeable sense of the pride and pleasure these brothers felt in being reunited.


In stock

SKU: Riverside RLP 9362 (45) [2] Categories: , , , Tags: , ,


Listening to the Montgomery Brothers is pure enjoyment. The musician himself must be entertained by what he is doing and you can hear that enjoyment coming through on this LP.

AllMusic Review by Ken Dryden

Wes Montgomery was reunited with his brothers Monk and Buddy on this 1961 Riverside session, which also features drummer Bobby Thomas. The guitarist and his brothers are in great form throughout the session in spite of the less-than-ideal piano provided. According to producer Orrin Keepnews, Buddy Montgomery originally intended to split his time on the date between vibes and piano, but the failure of the motor on the former instrument caused him to spend most of his time at the keyboard. The highlight of the evening in the studio is a foot-tapping version of Carl Perkins’ “Groove Yard,” followed closely by a wild ride through Harold Land’s “Delirium.” The leader contributed the soulful hard bop work “Doujie.” The pianist wrote the driving “Just for Now” and the easygoing blues “Back to Bock.” The contents of this CD reissue, all of which are present within the 12-CD set The Complete Riverside Recordings, unfortunately doesn’t include several valuable alternate takes later added to the boxed set. Like most of Wes Montgomery’s Riverside recordings, this release is an essential part of his discography and is highly recommended.


1. Back To Back
2. Groove Yard
3. If I Should Lose You
4. Delirium
1. Just For Now
2. Doujie
3. Heart Strings
4. Remember



Additional information

Weight 0.700 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm