Back to 180Gram

Tchaikovsky : Symphonies Nos. 4,5,6


At the height of the Cold War, the Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra under its legendary principal conductor Evgeny Mravinsky visited Britain in September 1960, giving sensational concerts in Edinburgh and London which drew ecstatic responses from both press and public. Since this virtuoso orchestra was then poorly represented in Western record catalogues, Deutsche Grammophon’s engineers astutely seized the opportunity to capture their playing in far superior sound to anything that could be produced by their Soviet counterparts. Among the most notable sessions taped in Wembley Town Hall was Mravinsky’s blazingly urgent account of Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony.

Out of stock

SKU: Analogphonic LP 43092 [2] Categories: , , , , Tags: , , ,


Ever the perfectionist, the conductor was so pleased with the quality of this recording that two months later he and the orchestra agreed to record the last two symphonies for DG, this time in Vienna’s Musikverein. Initially released on three separate stereo LPs, these Tchaikovsky performances convey a highly-strung raw energy that remains undimmed up to the present day. The Finale of No. 5, delivered at a manically swift pace, is one of high points, guaranteed to take your breath away. (BBC Music Magazine)


Symphony No. 4 in F minor, op. 36
1. Satz : Andante sostenuto – Moderato con anima
Side 2
1. Satz : Andantino in modo di canzona
2. Satz : Scherzo : Pizzicato ostinato – Allegro
3. Satz : Finale : Allegro con fuoco
Symphony No. 5 in E minor, op. 64
1. Satz : Andante – Allegro con anima
2. Satz : Andante cantabile, con aleuna licenza
Side 2
1. Satz : Valse : Allegro moderato
2. Satz : Finale : Andante maestoso, Allegro vivace
Symphony No. 6 in B minor, op. 74, Pathetique
1. Satz : Adagio – Allegro non troppo
2. Satz : Allegro con grazia
Side 2
1. Satz : Allegro molto vivace
2. Satz : Finale : Adagio lamentoso



Additional information

Weight .840 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm