Back to 180Gram

Stravinsky : Symponies


It is well known that the mature Stravinsky was candidly scathing about some of his early compositions. However, he did subscribe a measure of academic value to his very first symphony, if only to show how one should not compose.

Out of stock


In the following decades he wrote his so-called neo-classical symphonies, but these too found no mercy in the eyes and ears of avant-garde extremists and are thus among the most underestimated orchestral compositions of the 20th century.
The new aspiration to write with clarity and simplicity, and so turning away from late-romantic and impressionistic expression, is already found in the key of C major, which has no accidentals. But the compositional technique is tricky: sharp polytonal melodies grow out of tonal islands, which, however, never result in pleasant-sounding cadences even after numerous attempts to do so.
The Symphony in Three Movements, too, breaks with tradition as regards its formal structure, which Stravinsky himself regarded as »naïve«. Even more intricate, however, is the ingenious melodiousness, which is unfolded with ballet-like rhythms by the whole orchestra.
This fresh, bold music needs to be performed by an astute and dauntless ensemble – such as West-Swiss Orchestre de la Suisse Romande conducted by Ernest Ansermet, an ardent champion of modern works.



1st mov. : Moderato alla breve

2nd mov. : Larghetto concertante

3rd mov. : Allegretto

4th mov. : Adagio – Tempo giusto, alla breve


I. First Movement
II. Andante – Interlude : L’istesso tempo
III. Con moto


Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm