Back to Verve

Sonny Stitt – Sits In With The Oscar Peterson Trio


The Penguin Guide to Jazz rated the album three and a half stars out of four and wrote of the session, “they intermingle their respective many-noted approaches as plausibly as if this were a regular band (in fact, they never recorded together again)

Joining hands, in a manner of speaking, in this jumping jazz endeavor are four of the fastest hands that jazz has known. We’re referring, of course, to the two saxophone playing hands of the fantastically facile Sonny Stitt, and the piano playing hands of his collaborator, Oscar Peterson.

In stock

SKU: Verve MG VS-6108 {2] Categories: , , Tags: ,


AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

This LP combines a complete session that Sonny Stitt (doubling on alto and tenor) did with the 1959 Oscar Peterson Trio (which includes the pianist/leader, bassist Ray Brown, and drummer Ed Thigpen) and three titles from 1957 with Peterson, Brown, guitarist Herb Ellis, and drummer Stan Levey. The music has the feel of a jam session and, other than a theme-less blues, all of the songs are veteran standards. Highlights of this fine effort include “I Can’t Give You Anything But Love,” “The Gypsy,” “Scrapple from the Apple,” “Easy Does It,” and “I Remember You.” Lots of cooking music.


1. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
2. Au Privave
3. The Gypsy
4. I’ll Remember April
5. Scrapple From The Apple
1. Moten Swing
2. Blues for Pres, Sweets, Ben and All The Other Funky Ones
3. Easy Does It


Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm