Back to 200g

Sonny Criss : Jazz U.S.A.

$47.50 $35.00

Despite the fact that Sonny Criss is one of the relatively young men of Jazz, he has been universally recognized as one of the most competent musicians in the field. He has surrounded himself with a number of outstanding jazz contemporaries, all of whom enhance the works immeasurably, to create an exciting package for the listener.

Out of stock

SKU: Imperial LP 9006 [3] Categories: , , , , Tags: ,


Sonny Criss’ first Imperial release, recorded in 1956, features Criss on alto sax, Kenny Drew on piano, Barney Kessel on guitar, Bill Woodson on bass and Chuck Thompson on drums. The tunes, recorded in Los Angeles January through March of 1956, include “Sweet Georgia Brown,” “These Foolish Things,” “Something’s Gotta Give,” “Willow Weep For Me” and others. Cut from the original Mono master tapes played back on a full-track Mono head through an all-tube Mono cutting chain including a pure Mono cutter head – as it was originally.
This is a very collectable record in its original issue and almost impossible to find in any condition. Authentic tip on jacket and labels make this reissue hard to distinguish from one you could have bought in 1956. This initial release is part of Classic Record’s Classic Sonny Criss Imperial Series which will include two of Sonny’s other Imperial Recordings: Go Man and Play’s Cole Porter.

1. Willow Weep for Me
2. These Foolish Things
3. Blue Friday
4. Sunday
5. More than You Know
6. Easy Living
1. Alabamy Bound
2. Something’s Gotta Give
3. West Coast Blues
4. Criss-Cross
5. Ham’s Blues
6. Sweet Georgia Brown


Additional information

Weight 0.550 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm