Back to 180Gram

Simone and Ian Felice : The Big Empty Lost Tapes Volume 1 – Mexico


Diverse Vinyl continues their relationship with Simone Felice by releasing two albums in one lovely package. Simone Felice is the singer/songwriter in The Duke & The King and was previously a member of The Felice Brothers with siblings Ian and James.

In stock

SKU: DIV0300DLP [2] Categories: , , , , Tags: , ,


It is Ian Felice that features alongside Simone on this collection of songs. They have been released as two separate albums on CD, “The Big Empty: Lost Tapes Volume I” and “Mexico: Lost Tapes Volume II”, but Diverse Vinyl decided to package them together in a gatefold double LP. The CDs came in brown cardboard slip cases with simple ink images; Diverse has replicated this as closely as possible with the vinyl packaging. The songs were all recorded at Simone’s home in New York State by his Duke & The King bandmate and longtime friend, Bobby Chicken Bird.

The songs on Volume I were recorded way back in October 2002 with Volume II following in February 2004. These raw recordings are the sound of Simone and Ian honing the sound that would later make their bands darlings of the Americana scene. Both brothers bands have earned comparisons with Bob Dylan and The Band in the past, these songs certainly wear those influences on their sleeve but are stripped down to just the soulful voices of two brothers, acoustic guitar, piano and loose drums.

No studio magic, no overdubs, just two talented individuals learning their craft in the years leading up to The Felice Brothers breakthrough release, 2007’s “Tonight At The Arizona”.


A1 Your Old Volvo
A2 Bicycle Man
A3 Home From War
A4 I Am That Boy
A5 The Grace
B1 Child Of Longing
B2 My Simple Mind
B3 Hospital Song
B4 The Bitter End
B5 Help Is On The Way
C1 I Hear The Wolves
C2 The Tides
C3 We All Bleed
C4 Emma
D1 Division Street
D2 Easy Way To Live
D3 When You Were Born


Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm