Back to 200g

Roy Orbison – Crying


Roy Orbison’s second album features swooping strings and full vocal choruses. Roy has arrived and the party is going on now – inside this cover. Shall we join him?

In stock

SKU: Monument SM 14007 [3] Categories: , , Tags: , , ,


Roy Orbison’s second album was above-average considering the slight standards of the time, but was a fairly slight effort nonetheless. In its favor, the album features nearly all original material by Orbison and some of the writers who frequently tailored songs for him, such as Boudleaux and Felice Bryant and Joe Melson. The trademark early Orbison production flourishes, with swooping strings and full vocal choruses, are also present. What’s missing is truly first-rate songwriting. With the exception of “Love Hurts,” the title track, and the epic hit “Running Scared,” most of the cuts lean toward the Big O’s more sentimental side, and are pleasantly forgettable. Of the obscure cuts here, the best are the uptempo “Nite Life” and “Let’s Make A Memory,” with its bouncing string arrangement, but neither could be classified among his best early work. Review by Allmusic.

1. Crying
2. The Great Pretender
3. Love Hurts
4. She Wears My Ring
5. Wedding Day
6. Summersong
1. Dance
2. Lana
3. Loneliness
4. Let’s Make a Memory
5. Nite Life
6. Running Scared


Additional information

Weight 0.550 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm