Back to 180Gram

Richard Thompson – Front Parlour Ballads


“The production on this record is the kind of thing the audience actually asks for,” Thompson explains. “They ask for simple; they don’t want the frills in the way. They don’t want the glossy, hi-fi production—they wouldn’t know what to do with it. They want to hear the squeaks of fingers on strings and, dare I say the cock-ups. So that’s what they’re gonna get.”


In stock

SKU: Diverse Records DIV 009 [2] Categories: , , , Tags: , ,


“Front Parlour Ballads” is Richard Thompson’s first solo acoustic album since 1981’s ‘Strict Tempo’’ and, remarkably, the first ever acoustic studio album of original songs in his extensive discography. A gorgeous collection of 13 new songs featuring Thompson on vocals, acoustic guitar and other instruments and percussionist Debra Dobkin on selected tracks. Encompassing everything from rollicking tales of quickie marriages in ‘Let it Blow’, a lilting love song dedicated to ‘Miss Patsy,’ and the devastatingly beautiful lament of ‘Precious One,’ ‘Front Parlour Ballads’ is a treasure box of stories and characters, all delivered with Thompson’s masterful guitar work, sonorous voice and bittersweet lyrics.


1. Let it Blow
2. For Who’s Sake?
3. Miss Patsy
4. Old Thames Side
5. How Does Your Garden Grow
6. My Soul, My Soul
7. Cressida
8. Row, Boys, Row
9. Mutton Street
10. Precious One
11. A Solitary Life
12. Should I Betray?
13. When We Were Boys At School


Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm