Back to 180Gram

Oscar Peterson – Night train


AllMusic Review by John Bush
Verve’s Master Edition of the Oscar Peterson Trio date released as Night Train includes stately covers of blues and R&B standards like “The Honeydripper,” “C-Jam Blues,” “Georgia on My Mind,” “Bags’ Groove,” “Moten Swing,” and “Things Ain’t What They Used to Be.” Ray Brown and Ed Thigpen provide tight accompaniment, and there are six previously unavailable tracks recorded the same day, including “My Heart Belongs to Daddy” and “Volare,” as well as alternate takes of “Happy-Go-Lucky Local” and “Moten Swing.”

In stock

SKU: Verve V6-8538 [2] Categories: , , , Tags: , ,


In this classic album – the crowning achievement in his greatest year – Peterson doesn’t just interpret these songs – he immortalizes them. The well-known title track is presented here with an additional take, and there are five other previously unissued tracks.


1.Happy-Go-Lucky Local (aka Night Train)
2.C-Jam Blues
3.Georgia on My Mind
4.Bags’ Groove
5.Moten Swing
6.Easy Does It
7.The Honeydripper
8.Things Ain’t What They Used To Be
9.I Got It Bad (and That Ain’t Good)
10.Band Call


Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm