Back to 180Gram

Nina Simone – Forbidden Fruit


In Forbidden Fruit, Nina Simone sings of people in love – and of the circumstances that sometimes keep them from it.  While some of the songs are conventional – in the sense that their melodies are haunting and in the love song tradition – others are concerned more with the realities of troubled love.  In the latter category, for example, are “Rags and Old Iron”, “Gin House Blues”, “Work Song”, and “Forbidden Fruit”.  This album, more than ever, proves Nina’s amazing versatility, and stamps her again as one of the great talents of our time.

In stock

SKU: PPAN SCP 419 [2] Categories: , , , Tags: , ,


To call Nina Simone a jazz singer is to neglect the depth and range of her artistry. A classical pianist, folk singer, protest singer, and songwriter, her arrangements are harmonically rich, varied, and rhythmically experimental, while her voice can go from lounge singer-smooth to raw and exposed in the space of a verse.

The tracks on Sides 1 & 2 comprise 1961’s masterful “Forbidden Fruit” album.
While no session information exists to confirm this, Schackman, Hamilton and White were likely accompanying Nina when she recorded the eleven songs that comprise Sides 3 & 4, seven of which are from the small archive of previously unreleased tracks left in the Colpix vaults; and four of which were included on the Nina’s final Colpix release, 1963’s “Nina Simone With Strings”.


1. Rags And Old Iron
2. No Good Man
3. Gin House Blues
4. I’ll Look Around
5. I Love to Love
1. Work Song
2. Where Can I Go Without You
3. Just Say I Love Him (English Version)
4. Memphis In June
5. Forbidden Fruit
1. Porgy I Is Your Woman Now
2. Baubles, Bangles and Beads
3. Gimme A Pigfoot
4. Ev’rytime We Say Goodbye
5. Spring is Here
6. Lonesome Valley
1. Golden Earrings
2. My Ship
3. “Tain’t Nobody’s Biz-Ness If I Do
4. Try A Little Tenderness
5. Od Yesh Homa



Additional information

Weight 0.760 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm