Back to 180Gram

Natalie Merchant – Tigerlily


True to its title, Tigerlily balances fierceness and delicacy, creating a rare span of emotional territory. Listening to Tigerlily, a distinct songwriter’s voice emerges, one which possesses strength and vulnerability. The lyrics are personal, the arrangements stark and sparse. All in all a pleasant, very beautiful voice, lyrics to savor, and some magic.

In stock

SKU: Mofi MFSL 2-45008 (45) [6] Categories: , , , Tags: , , , ,


Originally released in 1995, Tigerlily still sounds as fresh as it did then. Natalie froze time and space in this her first solo album following her break from 10,000 Maniacs.

Tigerlily was engineered by John Holbrook, who has worked with The Band, Peter Tosh, and the Isley Brothers.

• Double LP
• 180g Vinyl, 45rpm
• Numbered, Limited Edition
AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Tigerlily, Natalie Merchant’s first solo record, does sound different than 10,000 Maniacs. Instead of relying strictly on jangly folk-rock, Merchant continues opening her music up as she did on Our Time in Eden, her last album with the Maniacs. From the understated groove of “Carnival” to the rolling “San Andreas Fault,” the added emphasis on rhythmic texture works, creating an intimate but not exclusive atmosphere that holds throughout the record, even when her occasionally sophomoric, sentimental poetry threatens to sink the album in the weight of its own preciousness (as in “River,” her tribute to the late actor River Phoenix).


1. San Andreas Fault
2. Wonder
3. Beloved Wife

4. River
5. Carnival
1. I May Know the Word
2. The Letter
3. Cowboy Romance

Copy and paste to create more


Additional information

Weight 1.800 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm