Back to 180Gram

Marshall Crenshaw – Marshall Crenshaw [1984]


Bored with his role as John Lennon in the musical Beatlemania in February of 1980, Marshall Crenshaw decided to try his hand at songwriting. By August of that year, he was playing his songs at gigs around Manhattan with his drummer brother, Robert and bassist Chris Donato. After singer Robert Gordon recorded three of his tunes, Crenshaw was signed by Warner Brothers and this, his self-titled debut album, was released in 1982. It was immediately lauded as a pop masterpiece and Crenshaw was recognized as a first-rate songwriter, singer and guitarist. Gems like “Someday, Someway,” “She Can’t Dance” and “Not for Me,” all remain timeless classics that add up to one of the finest debuts of its day. Now here on Mobile Fidelity Numbered Limited Edition 180g Vinyl!

In stock

SKU: Mofi MFSL 1-294 [6] Categories: , , , Tags: , , ,


AllMusic Review by William Ruhlmann
In retrospect, 1982 was a brief, exhilarating moment in between the fall of disco and the rise of MTV, when the eternal verities of real rock & roll broke through once again. The punk and new wave music of the late ’70s had given way to power-pop, a return to catchy, relatively unadorned guitar rock. In that context, it was easy to see Marshall Crenshaw and his self-titled debut album as the Next Big Thing. Hailing from music-rich Detroit but based in new wave mecca New York City, Crenshaw looked like Buddy Holly by way of Elvis Costello, and sounded like that combination too. His short, simple songs had an obvious lineage, but Crenshaw further updated the sound and added a lightly sardonic tone à la Costello, giving it a smart-alecky New York edge. Not only did critics love the result, but the immediate surface charms of the music seemed to bode for a quick trip to the top. But although “Someday, Someway” reached the Top 40 and the LP got halfway up the Top 100, that did not happen. Maybe because Crenshaw was perhaps a little too faithful to his old records. Any record collector had to love a guy who knew enough to cover Arthur Alexander’s “Soldier of Love.” Yet Holly and Costello got away with their essentially nerdy appearance by working against it, always seeming about to break out of the image; Crenshaw, from the art deco cover of his album to his perfectly echoed vocals, seemed to fetishize the look and sound, more a formalist than a stylist. Or maybe it was just that by the end of 1982, Michael Jackson had released Thriller and Duran Duran was cavorting on MTV. In any case, Marshall Crenshaw remains a great album.

• Limited to 3000 copies
• Numbered
• Specially Plated and Pressed on 180g Vinyl
• 1/2 Speed Mastered by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
• Special Static-free / Dust-Free Inner Sleeve
• Heavy Duty Protective Packaging
• Mastered from Original Master Tapes


1. There She Goes Again
2. Someday, Someway
3. Girls…
4. I’ll Do Anything
5. Rockin’ Around in N.Y.C.
6. The Usual Thing
1. She Can’t Dance
2. Cynical Girl
3. Mary Anne
4. Soldier of Love
5. Not For Me
6. Brand New Lover


Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm