Back to Blues

John Mayall – John Mayall Plays John Mayall


MONO 180 Gram Virgin Vinyl! Includes 3 Rare Bonus Tracks!
The 1965 live album from John Mayall and his Bluesbreakers featuring additional bonus tracks.
“A tremendously powerful feeling for blues, an ability to make events from his own life into stories, and the musical gift with which to tie up these factors, these are the three major elements in John Mayall’s increasing success.” – from liner notes by Alexis Korner

In stock

SKU: Vinyl Lovers Mono 900013 [14] Categories: , Tags: ,


AllMusic Review by Richie Unterberger

John Mayall’s debut album, recorded live in December 1964, is a little unjustly overlooked, as it was recorded shortly before the first of the famous guitarists schooled in the Bluesbreakers (Eric Clapton) joined the band. With Roger Dean on guitar (and the rhythm section who’d play on the Bluesbreakers with Eric Clapton album, bassist John McVie and drummer Hughie Flint), it has more of a rock/R&B feel, rather like the early Rolling Stones, than the purer bluesier material Mayall would usually stick to in his subsequent recordings. The record doesn’t suffer for this, however, moving along quite powerfully, and — unusually for a British R&B/blues band of the time — featuring almost nothing but original material, all penned by Mayall. Nigel Stanger’s saxophone adds interesting touches to a few tracks, the songs are quite good, and while Dean’s guitar and Mayall’s vocals aren’t on the same level as the best instrumentalists and singers in the British blues-rock movement, they’re satisfactory.

[The 2006 U.K. expanded CD edition added five enjoyable cuts that round up everything else recorded by the pre-Eric Clapton version of the Bluesbreakers, including the 1964 single “Crawling Up a Hill”/”Mr. James”; the early 1965 single “Crocodile Walk”/”Blues City Shakedown”; and the February 1965 outtake “My Baby Is Sweeter,” which first showed up on the early-’70s British compilation Thru the Years. “Crawling Up a Hill” and “Crocodile Walk” also appear on the original John Mayall Plays John Mayall album in live performances, but the bonus track versions are entirely different studio recordings done for those non-LP singles, and are pretty good as well.]


1. Crawling Up a Hill
2. I Wanna Teach You Everything
3. When I’m Gone
4. I Need Your Love
5. The Hoot Owl
6. R. & B Time: Night Train / Lucille
7. (Bonus) Blues City Shake Down
8. (Bonus) Crocodile Walk
9. Crocodile Walk
1. What’s the Matter With You
2. Doreen
3. Runaway
4. Heartache
5. Chicago Line
6. (Bonus) My Baby Is Sweeter
Recorded live at Klooks Klee, Hampstead, London on December 7, 1964.
Bonus Tracks recorded February 26, 1965 in studio.


Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm