Back to 180Gram

Jefferson Airplane – Bless It’s Pointed Little Head


Bless Its Pointed Little Head is a live album by Jefferson Airplane recorded at both the Fillmore East and West in the fall of 1968 and released in 1969 as RCA Victor LSP-4133.

Five songs on the album had not appeared on any of the band’s previous studio recordings. Many of the Airplane’s recordings on the live album were much longer in length than their studio performances. The performance emphasized their vocal harmonies and revealed a harder rocking group. Guitar and bass lines were more in-depth in their construction revealing complex instrumentals. It truly distinguished a different focus in their live concerts compared to their studio albums.


In stock

SKU: RCA LSP-4133 [14] Categories: , , , , Tags: , , ,


Recorded live, October 24-26, 1968 at the Fillmore West and November 28-30, 1968 at the Fillmore East, this album includes five songs that had not appeared on previous recordings as well as some previous recordings that are completely transformed into heavier versions. Jack Casady’s walking line bass playing dominates the entire set. Featured songs are the blues song “Rock Me Baby” and the Donovan cover “Fat Angel” which demonstrates the band’s versatility.

AllMusic Review by William Ruhlmann

Jefferson Airplane’s first live album demonstrated the group’s development as concert performers, taking a number of songs that had been performed in concise, pop-oriented versions on their early albums — “3/5’s of a Mile in 10 Seconds,” “Somebody to Love,” “It’s No Secret,” “Plastic Fantastic Lover” — and rendering them in arrangements that were longer, harder rocking, and more densely textured, especially in terms of the guitar and basslines constructed by Jorma Kaukonen and Jack Casady. The group’s three-part vocal harmonizing and dueling was on display during such songs as a nearly seven-minute version of Fred Neil’s folk-blues standard “The Other Side of This Life,” here transformed into a swirling rocker. The album emphasized the talents of Kaukonen and singer Marty Balin over the team of Paul Kantner and Grace Slick, who had tended to dominate recent records: the blues song “Rock Me Baby” was a dry run for Hot Tuna, the band Kaukonen and Casady would form in two years, and Balin turned in powerful vocal performances on several of his own compositions, notably “It’s No Secret.” Jefferson Airplane was still at its best in concise, driving numbers, rather than in the jams on Donovan’s “Fat Angel” (running 7:35) or the group improv “Bear Melt” (11:21); they were just too intense to stretch out comfortably. But Bless Its Pointed Little Head served an important function in the group’s discography, demonstrating that their live work had a distinctly different focus and flavor from their studio recordings.


1. Clergy
2. 3/5’s Of a Mile in 10 Seconds
3. Somebody to Love
4. Fat Angel
5. Rock Me Baby
1. The Other Side of This Life
2. It’s No Secret
3. Plastic Fantastic Lover
4. Turn Out The Lights
5. Bear Melt



Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm