Back to 180Gram

Introducing Jimmy Cleveland & His All Stars


This LP is sought after by many collectors just because Oscar Pettiford participates. But the other soloists too are of similar calibre: Ernie Royal, Lucky Thompson, and Max Roach – a real all-star band from the fifties. And not let’s forget the man on the trombone!
With this EmArcy LP, Jimmy Cleveland emerged from the masses in the Lionel Hampton Orchestra out into the limelight, giving his debut with these ten numbers which are so rich in ideas. The arrangements are all by Quincy Jones, who also provided the background here for Cleveland, who – born in 1926 – is here at the very peak of his career.


In stock

SKU: Mercury MG 36066 [2] Categories: , , , Tags: , ,


My One And Only Love, a wonderful ballad, gives Cleveland the opportunity to demonstrate the whole breadth of his musical prowess: full of vibrato he explores all the expressional possibilities the instrument has to offer. The slow tempi on this LP are particularly welcome since they provide an excellent contrast to the gripping, hard-bop numbers such as Hear Ye! Hear Ye! and See Minor.
This LP was followed by countless engagements with big bands ranging from that of Dizzy Gillespie to Gil Evans; but the man from Tennessee had already recorded his masterpiece with his very first LP in 1955. Band-leader trombonists are rare in the jazz scene, especially those who have something to say and who make a lasting impression. This re-release in 2007 is therefore highly recommended to one and all.


1. Hear Ye! Hear Ye!
2. You don’t Know What Love Is
3. Vixen
4. My One And Only Love
5. Little Beaver
1. Our Love is Here To Stay
2. Count ‘Em
3. Bone Brother
4. I Hadn’t Anyone ‘Til You
5. See Minor


Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm