Back to 180Gram

Ilona Knopfler – Live The Life


On her sophomore recording, Live the Life, Ilona captivates with fresh takes on classic tunes by Thomas A. Dorsey, Thelonius Monk, Ivan Lins, Michel LeGrand, Abbey Lincoln and many more.
The album features an all-star musical line-up including Allain Mallett on piano, Rufus Reed on bass, Antonio Hart on alto sax, Darmon Meader on tenor sax, Paquito D’rivera on clarinet, Kim Nazarian on background vocals and Sean Jones on trumpet.


In stock

SKU: Cisco CLP70441 [14] Categories: , , , Tags: , ,


“Ilona Knopfler bedazzles with a light, airy, crystal voice, superb charts and lavish production. Her terrific voice–genuine lilt and tight vibrato, bluesy touches of Diana Krall and Bonnie Raitt–is polished multifaceted sapphire in a lavish setting of scintillating arrangements of beautifully chosen songs performed to perfection by top-notch jazz musicians.” – Fred Bouchard, Downbeat
“Think of her as a one-woman Manhattan Transfer infused with vivaciously urbane perspicacity.” – Jazz Times

“Knopfler blends French with English on many tracks and shows us how effortlessly it can be done. She has created a marvelous sophomore effort, one that will ring true in the jazz world. LIVE THE LIFE sounds like the mature outing of a seasoned star.” –
“Say hello to a stunning voice, on what could be the best jazz vocal album of the year. It can find the sunlight amid the din of popular culture as Diana Krall did and should establish Knopfler as a top-level international diva of jazz singing, with her own unique style. She really is that good.” –

“Knopfler’s vocal tones cover the mezzo-soprano to alto range, but on this highly entertaining offering, she eloquently alternates the harmonic rhythm, supportive and interactive comping, and soloist’s viewpoint in tow languages with seamless ease and professionalism. Highly recommended.” – Paula Edelstein, All Music Guide
“I can’t put my finger on it, but this jazz singer Ilona Knopfler has me nailed, busted…Sold!” – George W. Carroll, The Musician’s Ombudsman
“Her vocalizing is easy on the ears, with a gentle swing and a pleasingly smooth sound. Ilona Knopfler has taste, an innate jazz sense that is even more evident when you see her in a club and great potential for finding an audience that transcends the boundaries.” – Princeton JazzFest
“In a batch of 100 jazz singers, Ilona Knopfler would stand out. She has the potential to be a big name in the jazz vocal world.” – Scott Yanow, L.A. Jazz Scene.


1. I’m Going To Live the Life I Sing About in My Song
2. But For Now
3. Ask Me Now (How I Wish)
4. Throw It Away
5. Alone Together
1. Comment Allez-Vous
2. Dansez Sur Moi (Girl Talk)
3. Le Jazz Et La Java
4. Les Moulins De Mon Coeur



Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm