Back to 180Gram

Grieg : Music for Peer Gynt


The Norwegian Poet and playwright Henrik Ibsen (1828-1906) wrote Peer Gynt in 1867, but it was not until 1876 that an abridged version, with incidental music by Edvard Grieg, was produced at the Christiania Theatre. Peer Gynt, fashioned from Norwegian folklore, is a Poetic Fantasy based on a character of the same name, who appears in the role of a great hunter, and slayer of Trolls in Absjornsen’s “Norwegian Fairy Tales”.

In stock

SKU: HIQLP002 [14] Categories: , , Tags: , ,


This classic early stereo recording (1955-1957) has been cut at EMI’s Abbey Road Studios from the original EMI master tapes and pressed on 180-gram vinyl on original EMI presses at The Vinyl Factory in Hayes, England. It features the original album artwork.

Sir Thomas Beecham’s influence on classical music during a span of several decades across the twentieth century was unparalleled.

Edvard Grieg, intensely nationalistic and saturated with Norwegian folk-music, had already made his mark in the musical world with his Piano Concerto in A minor, and his delightful songs and small scale works, for which he had a particular genius. The two orchestral suites made from the Peer Gynt music soon took their place amongst the popular in the world. (Although not everyone knows the fantastic adventures of Peer Gynt, every music lover knows the music written for him.)

The first concert music to be heard by Sir Thomas Beecham was that of Edvard Grieg. He became devoted to this composer’s music making his recordings unequalled. This album contains perhaps the most glorious performances of Peer Gynt music ever recorded.

“I like the amplitude and keen, spicy attack of the R.P.O. sound even more on the H.M.V. record.” – Gramophone, 1959

“When we try to show our grandchildren why Beecham was for us so godlike a musician…we shall certainly pull this record from the rack.” – Gramophone, 1959

• 180g Vinyl
• Pressed on original EMI presses at The Vinyl Factory, Hayes, England
• Cut from original EMI Master Tapes at EMI’s Abbey Road Studios
• Featuring the original album artwork

Ilse Hollweg, soprano
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Beecham Choral Society
Sir Thomas Beecham, conductor


Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
Music for Peer Gynt

1. Wedding March
2. Ingrid’s lament
3. In the Hall of the Mountain King
4. Morning
5. Ase’s Death

6. 1st Arabian Dance
7. Solveig’s Song
8. Anitra’s Dance
9. Return of Peer Gynt (Storm Scene)
10. Wiegenlied


Additional information

Weight 0.280 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm