Back to 180Gram

Elvis Presley – Elvis’ Golden Records


Manufacturer : Speakers Corner

This memorial album is comprised of his fourteen “golden” disks, that is, records that have enjoyed the success of selling over a million copies.

This long-playing album represents a success never attained by any other artist at any other time – namely, fourteen consecutive golden records.
In his unique presentation of songs, Elvis Presley has, himself, created a tradition. No matter how desperately imitators may attempt to capture his personality, Elvis will always be the innovator of a style which set an entire musical trend in motion.

In stock

SKU: RCA Victor LMP-1707 [2] Categories: , , , , , , Tags: , ,


This was rock & roll’s first greatest-hits album, and it set the standard for all others to follow. As originally conceived, it was a 14-song collection of most of the King’s biggest hits up to that time, released on the eve of his start of military service — a dearth of material being in the offing, it seemed only logical to assemble these hits. Each of the 14 songs had earned a gold-record award for a million sales, a record unequaled at that time by anyone else in rock & roll. The album wasn’t intended as a history lesson, so “Hound Dog” and “Loving You” precede “Heartbreak Hotel” — the 1997 remastering also tampers with the concept a bit, adding six bonus tracks. Elvis’ singing never sounded richer or more expressive, and one can fully appreciate in vivid detail the delicate nuances of his phrasing on songs like “Too Much.” On the downside, the remastering has made the sound so clean on some of the harder songs that some of the raw, “dirty” ambience that characterized this stuff on the radio and the original 45s is lacking. Still, Scotty Moore’s groundbreaking lead guitar part on “Hound Dog” and the Jordanaires’ backup singing never came through more sharply or cleanly, and the all-important rhythm section is almost up front in the mix. Those who own the first Elvis box from RCA, covering the ’50s masters, may hesitate to pick up this or the other parts of this latest remastered series, but the sound has been upgraded one more level, and Golden Hits does give a bite-sized glimpse of where Elvis had come from and where he was going (for better or worse) musically on the eve of heading into the Army.


1. Hound Dog
2. Loving You
3. All Shook Up
4. Heartbreak Hotel
5. Jailhouse Rock
6. Love Me
7. Too Much
1. Don’t Be Cruel
2. That’s When Your HEartaches Begin
3. (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear
4. Love Me Tender
5. Treat Me Nice
6. Anyway You You Want Me (That’s How I Will Be)
I Want You, I Need You, I Love YOU



Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2 cm