Back to 180Gram

Dolly Varden – Forgiven Now


Named after a colorful species of hard-to-catch trout, Chicago’s Dolly Varden has been making music since 1995. Fronted by the husband and wife singing-songwriting team of Stephen Dawson and Diane Christiansen, Dolly Varden plays what has been called “unabashedly gorgeous Pop music…an effortless meld of Rock, Country and Soul.” Their new album, Forgiven Now, is the band’s most focused effort yet.
If emotional honesty is your true measure of how good a LP is, then I urge you to check out the outstanding and resilient strains offered by Chicago’s Dolly Varden on their fourth and latest release Forgiven Now. This is a gem of an album that features strong songwriting that really captures moods and emotions; anyone putting in the time to really listen here will be more than rewarded — Dolly Varden have outdone themselves.


In stock

SKU: Diverse DIV 003LP [2] Categories: , , , , Tags: , ,


Since 1995, this quintet quietly has been forging roots music that mixes rock and pop and folk and country in a manner that is heavy on the heartfelt and light on the clichéd. Now that Whiskeytown and Dashboard Confessional and Blue Mountain and their protégés have sparked a veritable alt-country revival, one wonders if perhaps it is time for Dolly Varden to get their rightful acclaim with a larger audience.
Named after a colorful species of hard-to-catch trout, Dolly Varden is fronted by the talented husband and wife team of Stephen Dawson and Diane Christiansen, who seem to know plenty about what goes on in the minds of lovers. Fellow musicians Mark Balletto on guitar, Michael Bradburn on bass and Matt Thobe on drums round out the Dolly Varden team (this lineup has remained steady for a full seven years and counting — a rare feat in this modern world of revolving musical personnel). Added into the mix this time around is some phenomenal pedal steel work by notable Nashville session man Al Perkins (Gram Parsons, Emmylou Harris and everyone else you can think of).


1. Surrounded By The Sound
2. Trying To Live Up
3. Forgiven Now
4. The Lotus Hour
5. Overwhelming
6. Wish You Were Here
7. There’s A Magic
8. Time For Me To Leave
9. Disappear
10. 1000 Men Like Cigarettes
11. Meant To Be



Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm