Back to 180Gram

Cowboy Junkies – The Nomad Series Renmin Park Volume 1

$47.50 $40.00

Diverse Records is delighted to team up with the Cowboy Junkies once again, for their brand new album Renmin Park, the first volume in the “Nomad Series” of releases, of which there will be four volumes. The series of releases take their name from a series of paintings by a friend, the Cuban-American artist Enrique Martinez Celay. Many of the songs have been tried live on stage over the last year or so, and finally the band have committed the finished studio versions of these songs, across the four volumes to be released over the next 18 months. Volume 1, titled Renmin Park is in stock now.


Out of stock

SKU: Diverse DIV025LP [14] Categories: , , , Tags: , ,


With the release of Renmin Park, Cowboy Junkies are beginning their most ambitious period yet. In late 2008, Michael Timmins and his family were given an opportunity to spend three months in China. ‘Renmin Park’ is a reflection of his family’s adventure in the country. It’s another chapter in a band’s ongoing twenty-five year journey. Renmin Park (translated, it means “People’s Park,” as found in every Chinese town) is a celebration of the sights, sounds, and characters of Jingjiang, a small town (by Chinese standards) situated on the Yangtze River, about two hours from Shanghai. Several of the tracks were actually built on loops made from “field recordings” Michael made in China where he recorded a myriad of sounds from music and conversations to badminton games to students chanting their lessons or performing their morning calisthenics. The album also includes covers of songs by two of the country’s most important rock artists — “I Cannot Sit Sadly By Your Side” by Zuoxiao Zuzhou (ZXZZ) and Xu Wei’s “My Fall.” “Renmin Park a fictional love story about two people whose two worlds will forever keep them apart,” says the guitarist. “It’s a thank-you letter to an obscure city and the people who opened up their lives to five very strange strangers. It’s a document about a bewilderingly complex culture that is, once again, experiencing a massive upheaval.” – Michael Timmins.


1. Intro
2. Remnin Park
3. Sir Francis Bacon At The Net
4. Stranger Here
5. A Few Bags Of Grain
6. I Cannot Sit Sadly By Your Side
7. (You’ve Got To Get) A Good Heart
1. Cicadas
2. Interlude
3. My Fall
4. Little Dark Heart
5. A Walk In The Park
6. Remnin Park (Revisited)
7. Coda


Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm