Back to 180Gram

Chet Baker – The Sesjun Radio Shows

$47.50 $35.00

Chet Baker’s contributions to Tros Sesjun have acquired a cult status among his Dutch fans.
The trumpeter was notorious for missing gigs or showing up in a bad condition.
But when he had to play for this Dutch Radio Program he was always on stage on time and his playing was usually nothing short of breathtaking.


Out of stock

SKU: PRLP2010102 [16] Categories: , , Tags: ,


The wandering trumpeter – He had no fixed address from 1978 onwards – Must have liked the informal Jazz Club Ambiance, the attentive audience and the two men who ran the program : Producer Dick De Winter and Host Cees Schrama.
It’s not a coincidence both were musicians as well: Dick was a drummer for many ears and Schrama is still performing as a Piano Player.
Chet did six concerts for Tros Sesjun and all those times, he was professionally recorded while playing a first set to warmup and a second that was broadcast live.
This compilation has a selection from five Sesjun – gigs. The first one, a concert in 1976, finds Chet with his regular touring band at that time.

AllMusic Review by Ken Dryden

Chet Baker was often not at his best in later years, taking nearly every live gig or recording date regardless of whether he was physically and mentally up to it (due to his longtime drug habit) or the musicians were truly compatible. Happily, Baker is in top form during these live broadcasts from the Sesjun radio shows (which aired from 1973 to 2004) in The Netherlands. The first four songs feature Baker with his regular pianist Harold Danko, bassist Cameron Brown, and flutist Jacques Pelzer. The breezy rendition of “There Will Never Be Another You” comes across effortlessly, with fine solos all around and the leader offering a strong vocal and intricate trumpet in the ensembles. Just as potent is the extended interpretation of Dizzy Gillespie’s “Ray’s Idea” with spirited solos by Pelzer, Baker, Brown, and Danko. One track was recorded during the same show that appears on the Criss Cross CD Live at Nick’s (though it is not included on that CD), a heartfelt vocal setting of “This Is Always,” with Baker backed by his regular band (the brilliant pianist Phil Markowitz, bassist Scott Lee, and drummer Jeff Brillinger). One of the more unusual groups Baker led includes vibraphonist Wolfgang Lackerschmid, bassist Frank Tusa, and drummer Alphonse Mouzon. Although Mouzon had a tendency to play in a rock-influenced style that infuriated the leader, he is remarkably restrained on brushes in the easygoing vocal treatment of “Just Friends,” while he uses both brushes and sticks in Baker’s potent take of Tadd Dameron’s “Lady Bird.” The two tracks from 1984 feature Baker with his regular pianist of the time, Michel Graillier, plus a pickup rhythm section, bassist Jan Voogd and drummer John Engels, with the trumpeter subbing for an ill Phil Woods. The band came together rather well on short notice, particularly in the lengthy but never dull rendition of “My Foolish Heart,” showcasing the leader on both vocals and trumpet, both in a lyrical mood. Saxophonist Allan Eager appeared as a guest in Hal Galper’s raucous bop vehicle “Margarine,” but his substandard solo was mercifully edited out of the track. The last five songs feature Baker in an intimate trio with guitarist Philip Catherine and bassist Jean-Louis Rassinfosse, highlighted by the low-key but infectious take of Horace Silver’s “Strollin’,” the warm arrangement of J.J. Johnson’s timeless ballad “Lament,” and Kenny Dorham’s infrequently performed blues “Shifting Down.” This two-CD compilation showcases Chet Baker in peak performances from late in his career; hopefully similar issues will be forthcoming from the Sesjun radio archives.


1. There Will Never Be Another You
2. I’m Old Fashioned
3. Chet’s Theme
1. This Is Always
2. Blue ‘n’ Boogie
1. My Foolish Heart
2. Margarine
1. Love For Sale
2. Lament



Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm