Back to 180Gram

Brahms : Symphony No.1


Brahms’s Reticence as a symphonist is well known.  It was not until 1876, when he was 43, that he completed his first published symphony. When writing the first movement, Brahms was transposing into an orchestral mould the highly condensed and open-ended lyrical idiom that he was developing in his chamber music….

In stock

SKU: Analogphonic LP43093 [2] Categories: , , , , , , Tags: , , , ,


Karajan’s interpretations are orthodox and exemplary. He has intellectual mastery over every symphony, even the difficult Third, which clearly presents him with no difficulties at all … the performance of the Second Symphony has a beautifully lyrical, golden quality, with rich, warm phrasing, and plenty of vigour in the last movements.


Symphony No. 1 in C-minor op.68

1. Un poso sostenuto – Allegro
2. Andante sostenuto

1. Un poco Allegretto e grazioso
2. Adagio – Piu Andante – Allegro non troppo, ma con brio



Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm