Back to 180Gram

Billie Holiday – Music For Torching


There’s a history, however brief, to this long-playing record. The story begins in Hollywood Bowl on the night of Aug. 20, 1955, when Billie Holiday started to sing, hauntingly, and an indefinable electricity touched the audience.
Billie was singing, yes; but Billie was also singing songs the way they were meant to be sung and, even more to the point, the way Billie herself was made – almost predestined, you might say – to sing.


In stock

SKU: Clef Records MG C-669 [2] Categories: , , , , Tags: , ,


“…Like no other singer, Billie Holiday revived the most famous songs of the American ’30s and ’40s show business era. The composers of these recordings in 1955 Los Angeles for the Norman Granz Clef label are from the second rank of musical and songwriters apart from Duke Ellington. The musicians came from the West Coast or made it their home and they are excellent soloists. Benny Carter probably provided the arrangements and all of the eight titles became top interpretations, on which singers orient themselves to this day. Music For Torching is the title of the program. The tempos and the soloists are a perfect match for this title. Everything combines to make a pleasant atmosphere, by no means schmaltzy, but emphasizing that voice.


1. It Had To Be You
2. Come Rain Or Come Shine
3. I Get a Kick Out of You
4. I Don’t Want to Cry Anymore
5. Ghost Of A Chance
6. A Fine Romance
7. Gone With The Wind
8. Isn’t This A Lovely Day?


Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm