Back to 180Gram

Bill Berry – Shortcake


This recording achieves what many never attain – it presents ensembles which have distinct personalities in themselves while at the same time projecting the individual (solo) personalities of the great jazz talents present.

Can’t ask for much more.

In stock

SKU: Pure Audiophile PA-004 (2) [2] Categories: , , , Tags: , , ,


Bill Berry played trumpet and cornet in the Duke Ellington Orchestra. He’ll always be remembered by audiophiles for his performance on the sensational “For Duke” direct-to-disc recording. “Shortcake” is a favorite of jazz fans, and for good reason. It features a lineup of giants, including Berry on cornet, Marshal Royal on sax and clarinet, Lew Tabackin on sax and flute, Bill Watrous on trombone, Mundell Lowe on guitar, Alan Broadbent on piano, Dave Frishberg on piano, Monty Budwig on bass and Frankie Capp on drums. This release includes three bonus tracks, two of them from the great “Tribute To Duke” LP.
This two-LP set was half-speed mastered by Stan Ricker and plated and pressed at RTI on HQ 180-gram vinyl.
» … it’s exceedingly well recorded – at least as a closely-miked studio document. There’s no attempt at creating a natural soundstage, or of sizing instruments proportionally. The sonic draw is based on intimate portraits of the various instruments, which are harmonically, texturally, and especially dynamically compelling and convincingly transparent … spread over 4 sides of 180g vinyl expertly mastered by the great veteran cutting engineer Stan Ricker. Well done!« Music = 8/11; Sound = 8/11 – Michael Fremer.


1. Avalon
2. Betty
3. Bloose
1. I Didn’t Know About You
2. Royal Garden Blues
3. Moon Song
1. I’m Gettin’ Sentimental Over You
2. I Hadn’t Anyone Till You
3. What Am I Here For? (Bonus Track)
1. It Don’t Mean A Thing
2. Stella By Starlight


Additional information

Weight 0.960 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm