Back to 180Gram

Chet Baker Quartet


Never before had Chet been as totally moving as he is throughout “You Go To My Head”. – Alain Tercinet

Re-issue using the original photo from Jean-Pierre Leloir, re-mastered from the original master tapes. Limited edition 180 gram vinyl pressed by Pallas in Germany.

“Baker never sounds less than distinguished, his lyricism intact even on the most hard-driving bop… The piano never sounds murky, the brush and cymbal work comes through nicely, the bass has real heft, and the trumpet floats above the other instruments so weightlessly you’d swear it was a voice.” – Jeff Wilson, The Absolute Sound, April 2013

In stock

SKU: Barclay Disques Sam Records 84017 [2] Categories: , , , Tags: , ,


Rated 5/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sonics in the April 2013 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Limited Edition 180 Gram Vinyl!
Remastered From Original Master Tapes! Pressed by Pallas in Germany!

“Chet Baker Quartet” – Chet Baker (tp); Gérard Gustin (p); Jimmy Bond (b); Nils-Bertil ‘Bert’ Dahlander (dr)

In the tradition of labels wholly devoted to vinyl re-pressing, Sam Records puts out a product of top-notch musical and visual quality.

While so many labels confine themselves to re-mastering digital versions and reproducing the original artwork by simply scanning the cover, Sam Records uses only master tapes and re-creates record covers using the original photographs, paintings and/or drawings. That generally involves some painstaking detective work, so it’s a job for conscientious professionals, not corner-cutting amateurs.

Sam Records’ re-pressings pay tribute to the people – the musicians, producers, labels, photographers, graphic artists and sound engineers – who created the original recordings that have become enduring legends of 1950s and ’60s jazz.

Reissue using the original photos from Jean-Pierre Leloir, remastered from the original master tapes. Limited edition 750 copies — 180-gram vinyl pressed by Pallas in Germany.

Front and back covers are identical to the originals, made using original negatives or prints if still available.

Comes with a large-sized high-quality print of a photograph from the archives of Jean-Pierre Leloir.

This session, recorded at Studio Pathe-Magellan in Paris, Monday, October 24, 1955.

On October 24, 1955, only Jimmy Bond was still with Chet. Peter Littman had returned to America, and his seat was now occupied by Nils-Bertil “Bert” Dahlander, a Swedish drummer who’d accompanied Lars Gullin. At the keyboard was an almost-unknown pianist named Gerard Gustin who’d just been signed to a contract by Eddie Barclay. Given the context, they were obliged to fall back on standards. Chet knew how to play these better than anyone. He chose eight: “These Foolish Things”, which stayed in his quartet’s repertoire for a while; five others, which the trumpeter performers here for the first time – “There’s a Small Hotel”, “Autumn In New York”, “Summertime”, “You Go To My Head”, “Tenderly”; and two – “I’ll Remember April” and “Lover Man” – that he’d done less than ten days earlier together with Lars Gullin and Dick Twardzik, whose disappearance was still something Chet refused to accept. Given this state of affairs, the whole session exudes a kind of sadness that’s impossible to put down, whatever the choice of tune or tempo.


1. Summertime
2. You Go To My Head
3. Tenderly
4. Lover Man
5. Small Hotel
6. I’ll Remember April
7. These Foolish Tings
8. Autumn In New York



Additional information

Weight 0.480 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm