Back to Blues

John Mayall – Tough

$68.29 $47.50

Tough is a studio album by John Mayall. Released in 2009, the album features Jay Davenport on drums, Greg Rzab on bass, Tom Canning on keyboards and Rocky Athas on lead guitar. Mayall sings and plays harmonica, organ and guitar.

In stock

SKU: Eagle Records ER201631 [14] Categories: , Tags: , ,


“Tough” is John’s sixth studio album for Eagle Records and is well titled with a harder hitting feel and a real edge that sets it apart from his recent albums. After a long period with a stable line-up of the Bluesbreakers, “Tough” sees Mayall working with a new group of musicians that has clearly revitalized him and acted as a spur to his creativity. Although in his 70s, Mayall shows no sign of slowing down. Affectionately regarded as the “Godfather of British Blues”, Mayall’s influence on the genre cannot be overestimated in a career stretching back to the mid-sixties that has nurtured the talents of Eric Clapton, Mick Taylor, Peter Green, John McVie, Mick Fleetwood, Coco Montoya, and more! In a genre that has always cherished experience “Tough” proves that John Mayall still has what it takes.
The overall tone of this album is gritty and urban, current and strong; a study in the struggle of the current state of the world, the difficulties with human relationships, the pitfalls of temptations and, finally, the promise of hope—because the stories in these 11 songs are told from a voice of strength. In the 44 years since his first record release and at almost 76 years old, this is John Mayall’s 57th official album. Produced by John Mayall himself, this album is also the debut of his new band lineup, making this is a new start with fresh new blood.
The players make up John Mayall’s touring band, consisting of his latest guitar phenomenon from Texas, Rocky Athas; a blues rhythm section from Chicago—Greg Rzab on bass guitar and Jay Davenport on drums; Tom Canning on organ and piano; and, of course, John Mayall on keyboards, organ, harmonica, guitar and vocals.
Pressed on 180g vinyl, “Tough” is packaged in a double gatefold LP sleeve. As an added feature, the vinyl release includes a digital download card, allowing the owner to get a digital copy of the entire album.

• 180g Vinyl
• Double Gatefold jacket


1. Nothing To Do With Love
2. Just What You’re Looking For
3. Playing With a Losing Hand
1. An Eye For An Eye
2. How Far Down
3. Train To My Heart
1. Slow Train To Nowhere
2. Numbers Down
3. That Good Old Rockin’ Blues
1. Tough Times Ahead
2. The Sum of Something



Additional information

Weight 0.760 kg
Dimensions 32.0 × 32.0 × 2.0 cm